CityCamp Colorado 2012

Details of CityCamp Colorado 2012:
Atrium of the Webb Building via Green Passive SolarThe 3rd Annual CityCamp Colorado unconference was held on Friday, October 26, 2012, in the Atrium of the Wellington E. Webb Building of the City and County of Denver.

We brought together people like yourself to share ideas to enhance government transparency, citizen participation, and accountability, which will support more informed, healthy, livable communities.

We built on the success of the Code for Communities Hack-a-thon and other exciting developments in the tech and civic communities in Colorado.

Denver Startup Week and CityCamp Colorado

We partnered with Denver Startup Week to host the social track breakfast.  At 9, we kicked the day off right with coffee and inspiration with Ignite CityCamp Colorado. This, was our third ignite,  celebrated ideas and innovations that are transforming our communities. We had eight presenters provide thought fuel for our day. Ignite CityCamp Colorado has made every other camp one of a kind and this year will continue to raise the bar!

A Unique Venue Meant a Unique Camp

The Webb Atrium is a wide open public space, which made for an engaging and accessible camp.  Because of the nature of the space, we ran two tracks: one with programed speakers, demos, and panels (on the main stage), and a second unconference track.

2012 CityCamp Colorado Schedule

8:00 – Registration

8:30 – Denver Startup Week Breakfast & Networking

9:00 – Ignite CityCamp Colorado – list of presenters

10:00 – Remarks from Denver Councilwoman at-large Robin Kniech

10:15 – Remarks from Denver CIO Chuck Fredrick

10:30 – Roadmap 2013 - OpenColorado and Code for Communities will announce the 2013 agenda

11:00 – How Gov 2.0 Can Improve Customer Service – Sid Burgess from DotGov

11:30 – Denver’s Peak Academy – Scotty Martin, Business Process Improvement Manager

12:00 – Lunch

1:00  – Demonstration of – Code for Communities App Winner

1:15 – Demonstration of OpenBike – Code for Communities App Runner-up

1:30 - Demonstration of Colorado Data Engine

1:45 – Demonstration of CityCycle

2:00 – Unconference Update

2:15 – Demonstration of Bill Track 50

2:30 – Break

2:45 - Unconference session

3:15 – Demonstration from Denver’s Excise and Licensing Department’s new electronic services

3:30 – Demonstration of Colorado Information Marketplace Mobile App

3:45 – Unconference Update, Next Steps, and Closing

See the full line-up of presenters.


Attendees (95)

  • Bonnie Gross
    Downtown Denver Partnership
  • Adam Cherevka
    City and County of Denver / Technology Services
  • Maureen Crandall
    City and County of Denver
  • William Brohl
    Citty and County of Denver
  • Charles Ferrell
  • Karen Kelley
    City and County of Denver, 311, Technology Services
  • Steve Hockett
    City and County of Denver
  • John Ham
    City of Loveland
  • Hanh Bui
    City and County of Denver/ Denver GIS
  • Thirza Kennedy
    Governor's Office of Information Technology
  • Chris Christmas
  • Aaron Gabler
    City of Denver
  • Tracy Eiden
  • Becky Kessler
    Adams County
  • Jennifer Cyphers
    Pynwheel, Inc.
  • Tessa Carter
  • Brad Dodson
    City & County of Denver
  • Daniel Ford
  • Kristi Felts
    Cedar and Sage Colorado
  • K Cornwell
    Historic Denver, Inc.
  • marcus bronson
  • Alex Kirsch
    Commerce Kitchen
  • Tracy Jones
    Commerce Kitchen
  • Kathy Hicks
    City and County of Denver
  • dar coumans
    WESTAF: Western States Arts Federation
  • Jeanne Holm
  • Frank Conway
    Silicon Valley Bank
  • Ilima Kane
    Klein Buendel, Inc.
  • Colleen Burke
  • Rachel Davis
  • Amy Beth Herman
  • Shelley Cook
    City of Arvada
  • Melissa Carey
    City of Lakewood
  • Gabriel Conners
    Pegasus Investment Network
  • Ivy Hughes
    Confluence City
  • Matt Blomstrom
    South Suburban Parks & Recreation
  • Tom Charkut
    City of Lakewood
  • Larry Hibbs
    City of Aurora
  • Mark Church
    Colorado Interactive
  • Nik Brockman
    Boulder County
  • Elizabeth Chandler-Vos
  • Don Ingle
    City of Boulder
  • Jim Duncan
    State Library
  • Steve Gregory
    State Library
  • Steve Johnson
    City of Grand Junction
  • JC Hoot
  • Lydia Hooper
    Denver Public Works/Earth Force
  • Kevin Curry
    Code for America
  • Tim Hochman
    Lark Information Technology, Inc.
  • Kelly Dwight
    Innovation Pavilion
  • Bill Jeffrey
    City of Westminster
  • Debra Hill
    City of Pueblo
  • Bobby Cuomo
    City of Pueblo
  • Gabe Hamilton
  • Daniel Hauser
    City and County of Denver
  • Chuck Fredrick
    City & County of Denver
  • David Edinger
    City & County of Denver
  • Georgia Howard
    City & County of Denver
  • R. Shawn Bleam
    Boulder County
  • Frank Fields
    Town of Deer Trail
  • Noel Hidalgo
    New Amsterdam Ideas
  • Kevin Buecher
    Kevin Buecher
  • Christine Binnicker
    City and County of Denver
  • Conrad Gonzales
    Boulder County
  • Brad Laing
    City and County of Denver
  • Julia Griffith
    Klein Buendel Inc
  • Sean Hudson
  • Bryce Batchman
  • Marsha Evans
    City and County of Denver
  • Chris Haller
    Urban Interactive Studio
  • andy ennamorato
    Integrity Apps Inc
  • Jason Hibbets
    Red Hat
  • Oza Klanjsek
  • Tom Chase
    City and County of Denver
  • Allan Glen
    City and County of Denver, OpenColorado
  • Jacob Anderson
    City of Colorado Springs
  • ian harwick
    Ian Harwick Coaching and Consulting
  • Shelly Drumm
    Commerce Kitchen
  • Jamie Hollier
    Commerce Kitchen
  • Michael Hinke
    University of Colorado Denver
  • Chani Goering
    City and County of Denver
  • Sean Curley
    City & County of Denver
  • Sunlight Foundation
    Sunlight Foundation
  • joanne cheng
    Absolute Performance
  • Linda Hawkins
    Adams County
  • Sara Harmer
    Office of the Clerk and Recorder/ City and County of Denver
  • Sid Burgess
    DotGov, Inc.
  • Leslie Labrecque
    City of Boulder
  • Susan Christophersen
    Boulder County
  • Jason Lally
  • Michele Hovet
    City of Arvada
  • Holly Gorman
    Committe to Elect Holly Gorman
  • Brian Gryth